Posted by: SlayingDepression | May 12, 2011

Depression and Success

Research Association of Laozi Taoist Culture

Image via Wikipedia

Things have really been busy the last week or so.  And I am proud to report that I have taken a full-time position at an organization that I absolutely LOVE!  I’m not only very excited to have a job, but grateful to have a position at an organization that I really believe in.  My other business has also been taking off as well, so that is exciting.

So, what does this mean in regard to my depression?  It means that I’ve been feeling a little manic lately.  I’ve had high energy and have this feeling like a great weight has been taken off my shoulders.  I’m interested to see how the next few weeks will go.  I have to admit that I’ve been feeling as if I’m in a bit of shock and relief that the search is over!

I’m also very proud of my husband for being  so supportive and for making an extra effort to keep me going.  He isn’t what I would call overtly caring, but he knew how tough things had been for me and sent me little messages of encouragement.  I don’t know if he ever read the article I posted about how to care for a loved one with mental illness, but I did see a change after I sent it to him and asked him to read it.

So, on a scale of 1-10, today is a 9.  It is funny how even though I am very grateful for the job, the ordeal leading up to this, the depression, the anxiety, the feelings of guilt for not contributing to the family b/c I don’t have a steady income sort of “damper” on everything.  I guess it just is what it is.

Cheers!

~SD


Responses

  1. SD, just enjoy the ride. The anxiety, doubts, and feelings of guilt are normal, and any one getting a new job, any one else who doesn’t have to deal with depression, will feel exactly like you do now. They will only refer to it as having ‘butterflies’ in their stomach. Hugs. LS.


Leave a comment

Categories